Aiteo Cup

Aiteo Cup Final: Akwa Utd best Niger Tornadoes on penalties after barren 90 minutes

Photo Source: The News (Nigeria)

By Ayoola Adeleke

Akwa United are champions of the 2017 Aiteo Federation Cup as they defeated Niger Tornadoes 3-2 on penalties after both sides failed to score in normal 90 minutes on Sunday.

It is the second time that the Promise Keepers will be winning the Federation Cup in three years after winning it in 2015 – when it was without a title sponsor.

The game played at the Agege Stadium in Lagos and attended by CAF president Ahmad Ahmad, NFF president Amaju Pinnick and other dignitaries, was drab for the most part of the normal time with both sides failing to create clear-cut goalscoring chances.

Former Waters FC player Gabriel Okechukwu scored the decisive penalty for Akwa United during the shootout to win the newly built trophy for the first time in a very ceremonious environment.

The winners will cart away the biggest prize money in the history of the competition (‎₦25 million), while Tornadoes, the runners-up will get ‎₦10 million.

Akwa Utd will now represent Nigeria at next year’s CAF Confederation Cup, alongside Enyimba FC, while Plateau United and MFM FC qualified to play in the Champions League after finishing this year’s NPFL as champions and second respectively.
Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News


The best Nigerian sports coverage, covering: Football, Basketball, Athletics, Tennis, Combat Sports, Table Tennis and much more.


Subscribe to via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to and receive notifications of latest Nigerian sports news by email.

Join 23,671 other subscribers

Copyright © 2017 Jollof Sports

To Top