NBBF release 12-man squad list ahead 2018 Commonwealth Games

The Nigeria Basketball Federation have announced its official team list for the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.

This was revealed by the Secretary of the Nigeria Basketball Federation, Asiegbu Chimezie on Tuesday.

The team list comprises of six home-based and foreign-based players which will be captained by China-based Ike Diogu.

The Alex Nwora-led side are expected to fly out for Brisbane on March 23 for their first group game against New Zealand on April 6.

Nigeria are drawn in Pool A alongside host Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

Nigeria participated in the first basketball edition of the Commonwealth Games in 2006 which was held in Melbourne, where D’Tigers finished fourth behind Australia, New Zealand and England.

Here is the list:

  • Ike Diogu (Henan, CHINA)
  • Uchenna Ireogbu (Stony Brooks, NCAA, USA)
  • Dung Eli Abraham (Kano Pillars, NIGERIA)
  • Azuoma Dike (Kano Pillars, NIGERIA)
  • Olantunji Olalekan Graham (Unattached, USA)
  • Ofoegbu Uchechi Chima (Unattached, USA)
  • Musa Usman (Mark Mentors, NIGERIA)
  • Abdulwahab Yakubu (Gombe Bulls, Nigeria)
  • Istifanus Sylvanus (Gombe Bulls, Nigeria)
  • Abdul Yahaya (Kano Pillars)
  • Achiuwa God’sgift Onyekachi (Unattached, USA)
  • Orizu Prince Ifeanyi (Far Eastern University, Philippines)
Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News


The best Nigerian sports coverage, covering: Football, Basketball, Athletics, Tennis, Combat Sports, Table Tennis and much more.


Subscribe to via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to and receive notifications of latest Nigerian sports news by email.

Join 23,671 other subscribers

Copyright © 2017 Jollof Sports

To Top