Russia 2018

Rohr names Ajayi, Joel Obi, 26 others in squad for Poland, Serbia friendlies

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has named a 28-man squad list of players to execute Nigeria’s pre-World Cup warm-up games against Poland and Serbia in March. 

Rohr, as promised, sticked with players from the core squad as regular faces like the team’s captain John Obi Mikel, Chelsea star Victor Moses and Trabzonspor midfielder Ogenyi Onazi headlined the list.

Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi and Ikechukwu Ezenwa were the goalkeeping options the manager sticked with for the friendly games.

Two CHAN Eagles stars Stanley Eze and Gabriel Okechukwu have been handed first-time call-ups to the squad following their impressive feat at the just concluded CHAN 2018 tourney.

Al Ahly striker Junior Ajayi and Torino midfield maestro Joel Obi  have also been handed a golden chance to gatecrash the World Cup squad just as Kasimpasa defender Kenneth Omeruo and Odion Ighalo have been recalled to the fold. 

 On the cusp of his fantastic debut for the Eagles in their test game against Argentina, Amkar Perm’s Brian Idowu has also been presented another platform to shine at the national team level. 

In regards to the Eagles’ squad list against Argentina in November, Hapoel Be’er Sheva’s Anthony Nwakaeme and Chidibere Nwakali are some of the big names that have been snubbed in contemplating the squad for the forthcoming friendlies.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)


Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)


Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Gabriel Okechukwu (Akwa United)     

Nigeria will take on the Eagles of Poland on March 23 at the Wroclaw Stadium before traveling to London to square up against Serbia at the Hive Stadium four days later.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News


The best Nigerian sports coverage, covering: Football, Basketball, Athletics, Tennis, Combat Sports, Table Tennis and much more.


Subscribe to via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to and receive notifications of latest Nigerian sports news by email.

Join 24,735 other subscribers

Copyright © 2017 Jollof Sports

To Top