NVBF draft schedule for National Volleyball League

The 2018 National Volleyball League have been scheduled to kick start on April 6 with zonal qualification in the six zones while Kwara State has been selected to host the playoffs for Military and Paramilitary Clubs. 

The new development formed the nucleus of the technical stakeholders meeting on the proposed national volleyball league held at package B of the National Stadium, Abuja on January 25, 2018.

In his speech, the President of the Federation, Musa Nimrod lauded the stakeholders for their doggedness and willingness to contribute to the successful league which he described as unique and long overdue.

Nimrod, who attributed the poor performances of the national team to lack of local tournaments, said:

“It became apparent that funding, publicity and professionalism cannot be attained until all the stakeholders come together and start a league.

Presenting the templates to the coaches, referees, clubs and states Association secretaries, the chairman of the technical committee, Martin Melandi highlighted that clubs will converge on location in the six zones while the military and paramilitary clubs will use Kwara State as their venue.

“All clubs that emerge from South West, South South, South East zones plus two teams from the federal zone shall form the Atlantic Conference while Clubs emerged from North East, North West, North Central plus two teams from the federal zone shall constitute the Sahara Conference. Also four top teams from the Military and Paramilitary category will be divided into the Conferences through a secret ballot,” Melandi said.

“Four best clubs shall emerge from the two conferences – each making a total of eight clubs that will qualify to the Premier level (Top Division) while the remaining eight will form a Division 2 League.

“The eight teams from both divisions shall also battle it out and the best club in the Premier wins the league for the season,” he concluded.

These are the outlines for the 2018 Volleyball League:

1. Registration of clubs/players commences on February 12 and ends on March 18.

2. Zonal qualification falls between April 6 and April 15.

3. Round 16 Conferences will kick start from May 25 to June 3.

4. Division 1 Ranking Stages takes place from August 10 to August 19.

5. Premier Final holds from October 8 to 14, 2018.

Credit: Vincent Unogwu

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News


The best Nigerian sports coverage, covering: Football, Basketball, Athletics, Tennis, Combat Sports, Table Tennis and much more.


Subscribe to JollofSports.com via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to JollofSports.com and receive notifications of latest Nigerian sports news by email.

Join 23,732 other subscribers

Copyright © 2017 Jollof Sports

To Top