Sunshine Stars line-up 30 players ahead 2018 season

Sunshine Stars have completed the registration of thirty (30) players ahead of the impending 2018 Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) season.

The capture of exciting talents, Tayo Adebogun and Jide Fatokun and the return of Sunday Abe headlines a busy transfer window in the build up to the new NPFL season for the Akure Gunners.

Abe returned to the Club after a loan spell with Albanian side, Teuta Duress in an eventful transfer market, with creative midfielder, Tayo Adebogun signing an initial season-long loan deal from Remo Stars.

Gifted midfielder Fatokun signed an initial one year deal via Gray FC alongside his former Osun United teamate, Chigozie Obasi who also penned a one year deal from Samvic Academy.

Abia Warriors’ Moses Ocheije, Lobi Stars’ Sunday Emmanuel, El Kanemi Warriors’ Yahuza Bala and Adebayo Adigun from FK Ventspils of Latvia all inked a one year contract for a second spell with Sunshine Stars.

Former Heartland FC goal poacher, Nwakanma Ikedinachi and ex Giwa FC striker Charles Okoro also signed a one year deal to be part of the Orange and Blue family as midfielders, Yusuf Jaiyeola and Michael Egbeta who both completed a 12-month deals as free agents from Rivers United and FC Ifeanyi Ubah respectively.

The duo of exciting youngsters, Quazeem Obanigba and Segun Betiku were promoted from the youth team, Rising Stars to Sunshine Stars for the the 20O18 NPFL season.

Meanwhile, Oke Ogagotewho (Enyimba), Ajibola Otegbeye (Akwa United), Thomas Adesina (Lobi Stars) and Kelechi Ogoh (Abia Warriors) left on mutual consents while Olaniyi Fabiyi, Isaac Hele Hele, Ambrose Onyema, Michael Okoyoh, Tope Orelope, Peter Iyamu, Ebitimi Agogo, Ike ThankGod and Jolly Osas departed the Club following the expiration of their contracts in 2017.

The new players will be presented to the fans early enough before the kick off of Sunshine Stars first home game of the season against Katsina United at the Ondo State Sports Complex, Akure next Wednesday.

Sunshine Stars players with assigned jersey numbers for 2018 NPFL season:

Goalkeepers: Ariyo David-1, Moses Ocheije-21, Henry Ayodele-22, Olumide Akinroyeje-23

Defenders: Chigozie Obasi-2, Rock Durand-5, Seun Olulayo-6, Sunday Abe-10, Adebayo Adigun-26, Nojeem Raji-25, Segun Betiku-27, Alaba Adeniyi-29, El Shittu Lawal-31

Midfielders: Ezekiel Boboye-4, Ekundayo Ojo-8, Jide Fatokun-13, Anthony Omaka-14, Sunday Emmanuel-15, Quazeem Obanigba-18, Tayo Adebogun-30, Kehinde Adedipe-24, Yusuf Jaiyeola-32, Michael Egbeta-33

Forward: Franklin Sasere-9, Abiodun Joseph-11, Yahuza Bala-16 Sikiru Alimi-17 Charles Okoro-19, Ezekiel Thompson-20, Nwakanma Ikedinachi-35

Credit: Chris Okunnuwa

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News


The best Nigerian sports coverage, covering: Football, Basketball, Athletics, Tennis, Combat Sports, Table Tennis and much more.


Subscribe to via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to and receive notifications of latest Nigerian sports news by email.

Join 23,713 other subscribers

Copyright © 2017 Jollof Sports

To Top